Sworn and civilian recipients honored during State Highway Patrol awards ceremony


RALEIGH – The State Highway Patrol honored the actions of several sworn and civilian members today during an awards ceremony held at the National Guard Joint Force Headquarters in Raleigh.

The venue began with an invocation provided by SHP Chaplain Phillip Bland. Following the invocation, Col. Glenn M. McNeill Jr. addressed the award recipients, praising their heroic efforts while ensuring public safety.

“We are here today to recognize and honor those who have far exceeded their call of duty while demonstrating true devotion to service,” said McNeill. “The troopers and civilian support staff recognized today answered a call for assistance and when danger met them head-on, they faced it without ceasing.”

DPS Secretary Erik A. Hooks also provided remarks, commending the award recipients on their exemplary service to North Carolina. Each recipient was then showcased on stage, where they received their award from Col. McNeill. The ceremony concluded with a benediction offered by Chaplain Bland.

National Law Enforcement Memorial Attendee

Trooper Richard A. Capps Jr. – Columbus County

Trooper James R. Hall – Surry County

Trooper John T. Mastromonica – Stokes County

Trooper Curtis L. Tripp – Duplin County

Trooper Michael D. Weaver – Madison County

Meritorious Service Award

Sgt. Derek W. Heintz – Mecklenburg County

Capt. Michael W. Warren – Pitt County

Robert N. Huey – Wake County

Michael T. Hodgson – Wake County

David E. Hoggard – Chowan County

Andy G. Helsabeck – Pitt County

James D. Wicker – Wake County

Jesse V. Benton – Wake County

Derek B. McIntyre – Wake County

William H. Sugg — Wake County

Jonathan D. Holloway – Wake County

Ricky A. Armold – Wake County

Robert P. Elliot – Wake County

William C. Vaughan – Wake County

Sgt. Emory T. Brown – Harnett County

Trooper Donald C. Pate – Wake County

Trooper Jonathan Hammonds – Robeson County

Samaritan Service Award

Sgt. Robert B. Maynard – Johnston County

Sgt. Angelis S. Genao – North Hampton County

Trooper Erica N. Bass – Haywood County

Trooper Matthew B. Brown – Duplin County

Trooper James C. Bunce – Sampson County

Trooper Mitchel P. Geracz – Cabarrus County

Trooper Richard B. Kirk – Jones County

Trooper Henry P. Locklear – Robeson County

Nicholas J. Schwertfager – Rowan County

Trooper Jackie R. Benton – Duplin County

Trooper Christian C. Gall – Pender County

Trooper Jonathan J. Sherrill – Mecklenburg County

Trooper Christopher L. Wooten – Mecklenburg County

Valor Award

Trooper Cory D. Lowry – Robeson County

Trooper Richard A. Woods – Craven County

Trooper Jonathon T. Gibbs – Swain County

Trooper Harold B. Hoxit – Graham County

Colonel’s Appreciation Award

NCDOT Division 4

Capt. John Welty – Charlotte FD

Engineer Kenny Schott – Charlotte FD

Firefighter Mario Arango – Charlotte FD

Firefighter Tawni Chambers - Charlotte FD

Paramedic Jake Atkinson – EMS Mecklenburg County

EMT Amy Hein – EMS Mecklenburg County

Zach Bland – Wilson County

Sherice Richardson – Wilson County

Valor and Purple Heart Award

Trooper Daniel Harrell – Pitt County


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment