UMO’s Moncrief nominated for Osborne Award


Taylor Moncrief is one of 12 finalists nominated for the Murphy Osborne Scholar-Athlete Award, the highest academic accolade awarded to Conference Carolinas student-athletes.

The University of Mount Olive senior and Jacksonville native is a psychology major with a 3.857 grade-point average.

“She’s a star,” said Jeff Eisen, vice president of athletics at UMO. “She has also made a big impact on campus in various leadership roles. We are pleased to be able to recognize Taylor by nominating her for the Murphy Osborne Award.”

Moncrief claimed the Conference Carolinas Athlete-of-the-Year in indoor and outdoor track and field in 2018 and 2019. She is a three-time Conference Carolinas indoor track champion, and a four-time USTFCCA All-Region selection.

In addition, Moncrief has been named to the Conference Carolinas Academic All-Conference teams in 2018 and 2019, and was a CoSida Academic All-District selection in 2019.

She has helped guide the Trojans to eight conference championships in indoor and outdoor track. Moncrief holds the UMO outdoor school records in heptathlon (3,605 points) and high jump (1.69 meters), and is second all-time in the 100 hurdles (15.29 seconds) and long jump (5.63 meters).

Student-athletes are nominated by their institutions based on their academic, athletic and service accomplishments. The Faculty Athletic Representatives (FARs) from all Conference Carolinas institutions submit institutional nominations and votes are cast by the FARs.

To be eligible, the student-athlete must either be a December or May graduating senior or a first-year graduate student completing athletic eligibility at the same institution as undergraduate matriculation.

The student-athlete must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student at the member school for at least two years and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport.

The award is named for longtime educator and college and university administrator Dr. Murphy Osborne. The winner will be announced on Wednesday.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment