County teachers receive, renew certification


GOLDSBORO – Wayne County Public Schools recently announced that 15 teachers and counselors have earned a National Board Certification for the first time or renewed their National Board Certification.

National Board Certification is granted by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, and is the most accepted symbol of teaching excellence in the United States. Individuals seeking National Board Certification must hold a bachelor’s degree; have completed three full years of teaching or counseling experience; and possess a valid state teaching or counseling license for that period of time.

“These employees have worked hard to better themselves professionally, and demonstrated through the certification process that they are an accomplished educator and/or counselor,” states Dr. Yvette Smith Mason, assistant superintendent for WCPS’ Human Resources and Professional Development. “In addition to spotlighting our new and renewed National Board Certified employees at this week’s Board of Education meeting, three teachers who received certification for the first time were presented a $500 check from the district.”

The following teachers earned National Board Certification for the first time:

  • Winnie Wong - Greenwood Middle School
  • Emily Coggins - Northwest Elementary
  • Edward Coggins - Charles B. Aycock High School

    Earning certification is a challenging and time-consuming process, according to the district. The assessment process for National Board Certification requires candidates to complete four components. Three components are portfolio based, which include artifacts of student work, videotaped lessons, collaboration and assessment. The other component is an assessment of content knowledge and pedagogy at a computer-based testing center.

    It is estimated that the process takes the better part of a school year and involves a total of 200-400 hours of work outside of the classroom. Locally, educators seeking certification receive support through the district’s human resources department, which provides monthly support meetings and other resources as needed.

    The following teachers and counselors renewed their National Board Certification:

  • Deepti Dixit - Charles B. Aycock High
  • Kimberly Harkins - Charles B. Aycock High
  • David Conroy - Eastern Wayne High
  • Jessica Gurley - Eastern Wayne High
  • Jennifer Heim - Meadow Lane Elementary
  • Amy Thigpen - Meadow Lane Elementary
  • Stephanie Metcalf - Meadow Lane Elementary
  • Lisa Herring - Rosewood Elementary
  • Angela Lewis - Rosewood Middle
  • Lisa West - Rosewood High/Rosewood Middle
  • Melissa Lewis - Spring Creek High
  • Kerri Loury - Wayne Early/Middle College High School

    Renewing a National Board Certification is also a challenging process, which requires candidates to demonstrate that they are accomplished and continuing to grow in their profession, according to the district. Candidates must create and submit a Profile of Professional Growth demonstrating how their practices continue to align with the five core propositions in their certificate area. The PPG is a single submission composed of three interrelated components and a reflection. These components draw upon a single group of Professional Growth experiences that have occurred during the candidate’s certification.

    All total, the district has 100 National Board Certified teachers and counselors.

  • Comments

    No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
    Please log in or register to add your comment